A Seventh-day Adventist Organization

Educational Effectiveness Committee

Committee Charge - Updated January 2015

The Educational Effectiveness Committee

  1. guides the development of indicators and evidence of educational effectiveness across academic and co-curricular programs at LLU (see EEC Flow Chart of Committees, p. 2)
  2. facilitates the establishment of a culture of continuous assessment leading to evidence-based decision making
  3. makes evidence-based recommendations for change in institutional structures and processes
  4. facilitates communication and disseminates information among the network of Educational Effectiveness committees

It reports to the University Academic Affairs Committee and is guided by the University accreditation Steering Committee.


  1. Oversee the development, process, and results of University SLO assessment and program review.
  2. Serve as a resource to the University on educational effectiveness best practices.
  3. Promote a climate of inquiry among the LLU faculty where measuring educational effectiveness is understood and accepted.
  4. Coordinate the development of educational effectiveness sections of University accreditation reports, including WASC, AAA, etc. 

Committee Membership


  • Leo Ranzolin - Associate Dean, School of Religion
  • Rashid Mosavin - Executive Associate Dean, School of Pharmacy


  • University Services

    • Provost - Ron Carter
    • Educational Support Services - Kirk Campbell, Director
    • Information Systems -
      • D.P. Harris, Vice President
      • John Wical, Director, Administrative System
    • University Libraries - Carlene Drake, Director
    • Educational Effectiveness
      • Marilyn Eggers, Director
      • Ken Nelson, Associate Director/Institutional Researcher
  • Leadership of Educational Effectiveness Committees

    • Academic Service Learning -
      • J.C. Belliard (Director, LLU Institute for Community Partnerships)
      • Liane Hewitt (Chair, Occupational Therapy, School of Allied Health Professions)
    • Co-curricular -
      • Kathryn Knecht (School of Pharmacy)
      • Terry Swenson (Chaplain, Campus Ministries)
    • Climate Survey -
      • Rick Williams (Vice President, Enrollment Management & Student Services)
    • Digital Education -
      • Debra Hamada (School of Allied Health Professions)
      • Rafael Molina (School of Public Health)
    • Institutional Research
      • D.P. Harris (Vice President, Information Systems)
      • Ken Nelson (Associate Director/Institutional Researcher, Office of Educational Effectiveness)
    • Learning Outcomes -
      • Larry Beeson (School of Public Health)
      • Judy Peters (School of Nursing)
    • LiveText Administrators -
      • Diane Mattheson (School of Nursing)
      • Brigit Mendoza (School of Allied Health Professions)
    • Program Review -
      • Rafael Canizales (Assistant Dean of Administrative Affairs, Faculty Graduate Studies)
      • Kevin Nick (Associate Professor, School of Medicine)
    • Student Success -
      • Duane Tan (School of Pharmacy)
      • Jan Nick (School of Nursing)
    • University Assessment -
      • Laura Alipoon (Chair, Radiation Technology, School of Allied Health Professions)
      • Nancy Kawahara (Associate Dean of Assessment & Professional Affairs, School of Pharmacy)
    • Wholeness Portal -
      • Carla Gober-Park (Director, Center for Spiritual Life & Wholeness)
  • Schools

    • Allied Health Professions -
      • Georgia Hodgkin (Associate Chair, Nutrition & Dietetics)
      • Ernest Schwab (Associate Dean)
    • Behavioral Health -
      • Colwick Wilson (Associate Academic Dean)
    • Dentistry -
      • Euni-Hwi Cho
    • Faculty of Graduate Studies-
      • Anthony Zuccarelli (Dean)
    • Medicine -
      • Dustin Smith (Director, Medical Simulation Center)
      • Lynda Daniel-Underwood (Assistant Dean for Program Development & Evaluation)
      • Hans Fletcher (Assistant Dean Graduate Student Affairs)
    • Nursing
      • TBA
    • Public Health -
      • TBA
    • Religion -
      • Leo Ranzolin (Associate Dean)
  • University Faculty Council

    • Allied Health Professions -
      • Liane Hewitt (Chair, Occupational Therapy)
      • Karen Mainess
    • Nursing -
      • Judith Peters
  • WSCUC Assessment Leadership Academy

    • Becky Bossert
    • Kathy Davis
    • Marilyn Eggers
    • Donna Thorpe

EEC SyncAll Community